mine: Bloom! EP Review

Having been hooked on H2O, I was anticipating hearing more originals from mine in the future. Well 24th August 2022 saw the unveiling of Bloom and this being an enchanting gem which tells me she has a long and prosperous career ahead of her.

Coming all the way from North Dakota, the marvellous mine is a spendid singer/ songwriter who never fails to make me smile. I’ve been an admirer of her work for quite a while and I can say she has something extremely special. Well the brains behind mine is Mia Schuster, she’s an impecable individual and based on her tantalising tones I can tell she’s rather charming. Even though Schuster has been independently releasing these majestic tunes, I can tell plenty of passion flows through her veins. In fact Mia’s been studying at Berklee College of Music in Boston, where she’s finally been given the chance to come into her own as an individual and a musician.

Now mine is Mia’s brand new project and she’s most definitely onto a winner here. I’ve been listening to Bloom for a good couple of weeks, all I can say is WOW H2O was amazing but the other 3 featured originals are something else. I’ve had this delightful debut on constant repeat and I cannot help but lavish the finished product with plenty of praise. This exquisite EP consisted of 4 fantastic tracks all of which were smothered in indie pop goodness. Things opened up with Wild and this being a mellowing treat that’s easy on the ear. Everything about it was spot on, that gorgeous melody was refreshing, mine’s vibrant vocals were sweetly airy whilst that perfectly penned content was autobiographical as it depicted the journey Mia’s taking to acheive her dream. Even if she is homesick it doesn’t mean she’s giving up “If I move back home/ It doesn’t mean I’m giving up/ I miss my family, but not the room where I grew up/ I’m scared it’s way to small/ Coz I plan to take up space and I’m not sure I can hold”. Actually Bloom is quite a poignant name for the debut EP, mine’s musical career can quite easily blossom. Following on you then had the fast paced Grave and despite the title this tune wasn’t dark in the slightest. Radiating plenty of pop/ rock vibes joyous love song tackled the topic of immortality “What if you couldn’t die/ Then what would you do next”. Schuster has created a wonderful world where death does not exist and this was literally a credit to her sublime songwriting. Title track Bloom! was a piano ballad accompanied by stunning synths. This tempting treat was spot on, the upbeat instrumentation was calm/ tranquil and those gorgeous words were rather uplifting as they detailed Mia growing as a musician. That aside it was Schuster’s beautiful vocal tones which were at the fore front, basically I found these to be a breath of fresh air and it’s clear to see that this was her true calling. Ending what had been a tremendous release you had H2O and this being an autobiographical journey which resulted in something addictive. I found both the compelling content and vocal to be super sassy. Despite people trying to derail things, Mia’s chased her dream and grabbed it with both hands “I’ve known since the 7th grade/ Music was on my path it’s paved/ There’s nothing standing in my way/ Guess it’s just in my DNA”. Just like Bloom this really is her true calling and I cannot wait to hear more mine material in the future.

Bloom is available from iTunes (CANADA/ UK/ USA)

Facebook
Twitter

Leave a Reply