Top 20 EPs Of 2018 (#20-#11)

579ae670-234d-464d-b7ca-9eb6fdd8c8f2

20. Angie – Suicidal Since 1995

6th April 2018 saw Angelina Dehn unleash her debut mini album Suicidal Since 1995. Having been hooked on Angie’s music throughout 2017 this was one release I eagerly anticipated. Featuring 7 tracks, this blend of pop meets hip hop spawned the likes of Dope and Here For My Habits. Everything about this record was literally a sheer spectacle, those tunes were perfectly written creating something extremely hypnotising. I was first introduced to Angie in 2017, back then she’d just dropped Spun and from doing research I was hooked on the likes of Smoke Weed, Eat Pussy and Housewife Spliffin’. Catching Dehn early in her career meant I attended her debut UK show at Hoxton Bar & Kitchen April 2017. At that show my ears were blessed with the likes of Boss and We Run (both of which featured on Suicidal Since 1995).

2018 saw Angie announce that Suicidal Since 1995 would be pressed to vinyl. This picture disc was a must but details were scarce. Turns out it was being issued as a Record Store Day exclusive in Europe. After some further searching I found out Europe’s rule for putting unsold stock online was different compared to the UK. Remaining stock would be made available online the moment the shop has closed. Despite being shattered (I pulled an all nighter queuing at my local record store) I was able to successfully score this impeccable album.

FAVOURITE TRACK: 2013

0

19. Whitney Tai – Flowers By The Roadside

I have plenty of admiration for Whitney Tai, she is a stunning singer/ songwriter who has a wealth of original material underneath her belt. 21st December 2018 saw Tai unveil a seasonal offering and this came in the shape of Flowers By The Roadside. Comprising of just 2 tunes, this exquisite EP was a majestic piece of perfection. Flowers By The Roadside was a hypnotising slice of sheer bliss, Whitney’s angelic vocal tones were literally a breath of fresh air and those whimsical words left me in a dream like state.

On the flip side you had an intriguing take on Silent Night. This haunting interpretation made the hairs on the back of my neck stand on edge.

0

18. Bang Bang Romeo – Shame On You

2019 is set to be Bang Bang Romeo’s year, not only are they dropping debut LP A Heartbreaker’s Guide To The Galaxy in the June, this sterling three piece will be supporting P!nk on tour. Anyhow 24th August 2018 saw Doncaster trio Bang Bang Romeo unveil their debut EP Shame On You via Five Seven Music. Comprising of Anastacia “Stars” Walker (vocals), Ross Cameron (guitars) and Richard Gartland (drums) this three piece do have huge potential.

Everything about Shame On You was literally pure perfection. Anastacia’s powerhouse vocals knocked me for six and those lyrics resulted in multiple anthems in the making. I would go as far to say Bang Bang Romeo are pop rock but I’m guessing they will blow you away when attending a live show.

FAVOURITE TRACK: I could quite easily pick each of the 5 tracks featured as a favourite. When I listened to this extended play for the first time the tune which stood out was CEMETERY. There was something extremely joyous about this compelling cut.

Web

17. Ferris & Sylvester – Made In Streatham

2nd February 2018 saw folk duo Ferris & Sylvester release their sophomore EP. Made In Streatham consisted of 5 glorious songs which had me grinning from beginning till the very end. This splendid release produced the likes of The Room, Better In Yellow, London’s Blues and Sometimes. I love my folk music and I absolutely adored this record, both Ferris & Sylvester have something incredibly special which leaves me wanting to hear more. Despite being in love with debut The Yellow Line I honestly think both Archie and Issy have gone a step further and they’ve crafted an absolute masterpiece. Whenever I listen to Made In Streatham, it never fails to put a smile on my face.

FAVOURITE TRACK: I would have to say that my highlight had to be BETTER IN YELLOW. The other 4 tracks featured were formidable but it was the opener which I fell for hook, line and sinker. Better In Yellow was a slice of sheer bliss, the melody was bright/ breezy whilst Issy’s vibrant vocals were succulently sweet. Also Archie’s tones infused together resulting in a joyous number which uplifted my spirits.

1mage

16. Callaghan – Skin On Skin

2nd March 2018 saw Georgina Callaghan unveil the Skin On Skin EP. In 2017 she embarked on a PledgeMusic campaign to fund a trilogy of EPs, Skin On Skin was the 2nd instalment. Having been dazzled by The Other Side this was one release I was looking forward to. This mini album was pure pop at its best, here you had 4 outstanding originals which had been perfectly written. Just listening to this record left me thoroughly entranced. The reason I adored Skin On Skin was purely down to the fact it’s an EP which left me completely relaxed. These tunes would then go onto feature on the self titled record which dropped on 31st August.

FAVOURITE TRACK: Now each of the 4 originals were outstanding, when it comes to picking a highlight it had to be ALL THROUGH THE NIGHT. I found this to be a beautiful lullaby aided by Callaghan’s soothing vocals and mesmeric lyrics which sent shivers down my spine.

0
15. Trevor Douglas – Four In The Morning

19th October 2018 saw Trevor Douglas independently unveil debut EP Four In The Morning. It was in the March when I was introduced to this talented Texan and the single in question was Pressure. During 2018 Trevor released a further 2 singles and these being Stay By Your Side and Take This Back. Douglas actually competed in the 14th season of American Idol at the age of 17. Seriously Trevor has something incredibly special and this superb EP showcased his smooth vocal tones. In fact they are sightly reminiscent to Justin Timberlake. Everything about the chilled Four In The Morning was top notch, I could quite easily stick it on a constant loop.

FAVOURITE TRACK: My favourite tune from Four In The Morning constantly changes. All of these sumptuous originals were so impeccable. Now the track which immediately stood out was STAY BY YOUR SIDE. Both melody and vocals were the perfect blend which resulted in a ray of sunshine. The lyrics were is the form of a promise to be a better man than his girlfriends ex boyfriend. These whimsical words were so clear cut and my favourite part had to be the enchanting chorus.

0

14. Becky And The Birds – Becky And The Birds

15th June 2018 saw Becky and the Birds unveil the debut self titled EP. Having fallen in love with the likes of Holding On and Concept Store, this was a release I couldn’t wait to hear. Becky And The Birds is the brain child of Thea Gustafsson and this stunning self titled effort is a whimsical slice of sheer bliss. Now Thea comes all the way from Sweden, I love my Scandi pop and this exhilarating EP didn’t disappoint in the slightest. Comprising of 4 outstanding originals this sparkling 7 track EP was a delight to behold (you also had 2 Intros and an Outro). Each number was extraordinary and Thea’s vocals were silky smooth.

FAVOURITE TRACK: I cannot help but praise this succulent EP, Thea’s silky smooth vocal tones oozed plenty of R&B/ soulful vibes. Whist I adored every tune the one which had me hooked was DIE WHILE YOU LOVE ME, this was an addictive piece of synth heaven and that chorus was literally a colourful explosion.

0

13. Morgan Evans – Morgan Evans

Signed to Warner Music Nashville you have the super talented Morgan Evans. This self titled EP sprung out of nowhere, it was the perfect teaser of what to expect from the Things That We Drink To LP. 10th August 2018 saw the unveiling of the Morgan Evans EP and it was a compilation of 4 prior singles. Over the past few years my ears have been blessed with Country music, having friends and the annual C2C festival has seen myself witness/ listen to talented musicians within this genre. Now Morgan’s music came into my life earlier this year, yes I knew he was married to Kelsea Ballerini but I never gave his music a listen to. The moment I heard Day Drunk I was instantaneously hooked and this EP is a sterling piece of perfection. Each featured track was literally a work of art and I could quite easily stick this self titled EP on repeat.

FAVOURITE TRACK: Just listening to this wondrous extended play leaves me with a massive smile on my face. Morgan truly has a gift for songwriting and I’m ecstatic that this amazing Aussie has made his international debut. My favourite track constantly changes as they each have individual plus points. At this moment in time my highlight had to be I DO. This captivating cut is a super sweet ballad with delightful lyrics which had me picturing a wedding ceremony. Actually this beautiful tale could be about Kelsea. The melody was so dreamy and at times it has me picturing NSYNC.

012. Derek Sallmann – Love, Future You

14th December 2018 saw Wisconsin native Derek Sallmann unveil his debut EP Love, Future You. Having been hooked on the single Love, Future You this was an EP I couldn’t wait to get stuck into. Sallmann actually released debut LP All Seasons in 2016. Now this impeccable release was shimmering pop which can easily brighten up any ones day. Anyhow I was extremely fortunate to listen to this EP before the official release date. During that period Derek unleashed sophomore single Breakdown, Breakthrough and wow this was quite something. These 5 tracks did not disappoint, the 2 lead singles wee brilliant but the other 3 originals were on another level.

FAVOURITE TRACK: Whilst this was one sensational effort the track which grabbed hold of me was SUNUP TO SUNDOWN. The melody was upbeat, the infectious lyrics had me tapping my toe whilst Derek’s vocals were bright/ breezy.

011. Gianna Adams – I Don’t Know

With a trio of tantalising singles underneath her belt, 13th April saw Gianna unveil this pop gem which comprised of 5 impeccable numbers. Now Adams is a true talent whom comes all the way from Las Vegas, she’s an exquisite singer/ songwriter who emerged onto the music scene with the catchy Work Of Art in 2014. Anyhow this enchanting EP spawned the likes of Fallen and Shut Up, the other three numbers were sheer pieces of perfection. I Don’t Know was literally a joyous effort which I fell for hook, line and sinker.

FAVOURITE TRACK: NO HERO was an enchanting ballad, the melody hypnotised me and those stunning lyrics put a massive smile on my face. The chilled out No Hero was a breath of fresh air, Gianna’s vocal tones were candy coated which resulted in something truly captivating.

Leave a Reply