Liz Lokre: Buh Bye Single Review

on

Liz Lokre (formerly known as Liz Loughrey) is an aspiring singer/ songwriter who comes all the way from Toronto, Canada. Music is something Liz is incredibly passionate about, she even started to write and perform her own songs at the age of 12. Now her father booked live rock music in his native Dublin while her Trinidadian mother travelled the world as an Indian dancer. It was her grandmother who had in fact pioneered a popular pre-Bollywood style of dance.

I first came across Liz in 2016 after having listened to the delightful single Rise Up. After watching the videos on her YouTube I came across Lokre’s captivating covers as well as originals such as Unbroken, The One, Get Up & Leave and Rapid Fire.

25th May saw Lokre make her return with a brand new single and this being Buh Bye. Released via Ecclectic Electrix Inc, this brand new tune was partly funded by MuchFACT and it was produced by Toronto musician Adrian X (Drake, The Weeknd, PartyNextDoor) and Jordan Reyes of BASECAMP. It has already reached over 130 plays, being featured on several official playlists around the world both on Spotify and Apple Music (including New Music Friday playlists and Apple Music’s Best Of The Week).

Buh Bye is an addictive upbeat R&B tinged anthem, Lokre’s vocals were incredibly sultry and those contagious lyrics packed a punch “What did you do/ To make me want you/ You’ve got me hanging on to long/ I’m over you/ If you think I love you/ Maybe I used to but it’s gone/ I’m telling you goodbye/ Buh Bye/ Buh Bye/ Buh Bye/ I’m telling you Buh Bye”.  . I have to say this sumptuous song has left me enthralled leaving me anticipate more outstanding originals in the future.

Here is what she had to say regarding this single “This song is about the journey towards empowerment and how good it feels to confidently say ‘Buh Bye’ to anything that was holding me back”. 

14th July saw Liz unleash the music video for Buh Bye, this was directed by Sean McBride & Caroline Torti and it’s a colourful explosion aided by plenty of choreography. Liz’s look actually reminded me of UK artist Sinead Harnett.

Buh Bye is available to purchase from iTunes

Official Website
Facebook
Twitter

Leave a Reply

