Catherine McGrath @ Under The Bridge 11th May 2017

on

P1040409

Supporting Kelsea Ballerini at Under The Bridge you had the wonderful Catherine McGrath. Last year Catherine left her hometown in Northern Ireland and moved to London to pursue her dream. Signed to Warner, this impeccable singer/ songstress is responsible for the dreamy One EP and then 9th June will see the emergence of the sophomore EP Starting From Now. I’m so proud with everything Catherine has achieved so far.

McGrath and her band then graced the stage dead on 8pm, the opening number of the evening was the exquisite Hell Would Have To Freeze Over. Taken from the One EP, this delectable tune is so contagious. Catherine’s vocal tones were sugary sweet and the harmonising with guitarist Jon was pure perfection. Those whimsical lyrics had me picturing a guy who wants to win his ex girlfriend back. When McGrath sang the chorus you realise that the relationship didn’t end on good terms “Hell Would Have To Freeze Over/ Drink will start making you sober/ You would have to find me a 5 leaf clover/ Before I let you back in my heart/ Every war would have to be over/ The sun will start getting colder/ You’ll have to catch me a Supernova/ Before I let you back in my arms”. I literally loved this tune, the punchy lyrics literally had me hooked. “This is a song I always compare to going on a diet. If you ever been like I’m not going to eat any cupcakes and I’m going to be like really healthy and then you eat a cupcake. And your like OK it starts right now. I did that with a person, I was like I’m not going to talk to this guy and I talked to him again” Catherine McGrath mentioned before getting stuck into Starting From Now. This captivating cut was pure country and it went down well with the sold out audience. Those delicious lyrics were extremely hypnotic and then you had McGrath’s enchanting vocal tones. The lyrics were actually clear cut as they describe how Catherine has a weakness for this guy hence why she keeps on putting it off to the next day  “Starting From Now/ I don’t answer your calls/ Starting From Now/ I don’t open that door/ But we both know that you’re coming over/ Like you did six times before/ Starting From Now/ I won’t let you back in/ I said it before/ But this time I mean it/ Till I’m waking up beside you saying I’ll never do that again/ Starting From Now”.

P1040405

“Has anyone been to Nashville before? That was me when I was 12 coz I was like nobody knows what Country music is and everyone in Nashville does. It took me 5 years and I got to write a song with a songwriter called Liz Rose. That’s why I like you because you know what that means. I got to write a song with Liz Rose and I saw fireflies in Nashville” Catherine said before delving into Cinderella. Now Liz Rose is best known for working with Taylor Swift on her first two albums. Cinderella is Catherine’s very own Love Story. Just witnessing this luscious song right in front of me literally took my breath away. Those lyrics were so beautiful and McGrath’s vibrant vocals left me in an utter trance. “I don’t know if anyone can relate but I kinda feel every relationship is doomed to fail and it’s probably because I listen to country music. Everybody just gets heartbroken. I wrote this song kind of on a spin from that cos  was like even though it’s probably not going to be happily ever after, even though they’re probably not going to going to be your Prince Charming, you’re probably not going to get married, you still could” Catherine said before the spellbinding Just In Case. This majestical tune was so adorable, Catherine’s vocal delivery had me smiling from beginning to end and those compelling lyrics were so light and fluffy. What I especially liked was the message the lyrics convey, it’s worth taking chances because you never know that person could be the one  “Just In Case/ You should probably kiss me/ Probably whisper in my ear/ Probably hold me, like you need me/ Before the moment disappears/ Might end up in heartbreak/ Might not be the real thing/ But it could be/ So you should probably kiss me/ Just In Case”. Anyhow the toe tapping Just In Case was a feel good pop anthem and the performance uplifted my spirits. Once over it was then time for a bit of She’ll Never Love You and this was one of the first songs McGrath wrote. This majestic cut was incredibly light and Catherine’s sumptuous vocals were pleasant on my ear. Those clear cut lyrics were an emotional rollercoaster as they had me picturing a relationship which turned sour and the guy moved on and the girl is basically saying that the new partner wouldn’t be better than me “She’ll Never Love You/ Like I loved you baby/ She’ll never touch you/ Like I touched you baby/ Could have had my heart inside your hands/ But you took that chance away”. 

P1040407

“This is a song I wrote about this guy who had a girlfriend for 5 years and then his girlfriend broke up with him. They were meant to see Coldplay together, she cheated so he took me to the concert instead. He was just texting his ex girlfriend the whole time and every single time I was with him he was talking about this girl. This is a song about a guy who’s obviously in love with someone else. I don’t know if you’ve had that before but it’s the most annoying thing in the world” Catherine mentioned before diving into the spectacular Wild. The only time I’d witnessed this live was at Country To Country in March, just hearing it again was a real treat. Wild was a polished piece of perfection which McGrath faultlessly delivered. Those tender lyrics were packed with plenty of emotion “It was a Coldplay concert/ On a Thursday night/ 40,000 people with there hands in the sky/ Standing by your side I shoulda been singing/ Wishing you were mine, was all that I was thinking/ I know you wanted her when you looked in my eyes/ And you almost kissed me underneath the lights/ It should be me stuck on your mind/ Taking your time/ It should be me, stealing your heart driving you Wild”. Anyhow Wild was an emotional ballad and like Catherine had said it’s not fun being in love with someone when they are interested in someone else. Despite what happened I’m positive the Coldplay concert was amazing.

A solo Catherine McGrath then capped off her spellbinding set with Never Wanna Fall In Love. Now this was a heart wrenching ballad revolving around a love that was meant to be, but then one mistake ruins the whole relationship “Shoulda been you standing with me/ Would have been everything we dreamed/ Shoulda been us, Shoulda been trust/ But it was you that messed it all up”.

SET LIST

Hell Would Have To Freeze Over
Starting From Now
Cinderella
Just In Case
She’ll Never Love You
Wild
Never Wanna Fall In Love

OVERALL: Yet again this was another sensation set which has me anticipating the imminent release of the Starting From Now EP. Catherine literally has the world at her feet, not only has she supported the likes of Canaan Smith, Una Healy, Cam, The Shires and now Kelsea. But McGrath is also supporting Picture This plus she’s appearing at Hyde Park’s British Summertime which Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers headline.

Aside from that the performance was literally flawless, Catherine truly has the knack for writing wondrous songs and you cannot help but feel for her.

I literally cannot wait to see what the rest of 2017 holds for Catherine McGrath.

Leave a Reply

