Pamela Hute: Highline Album Review

on

24th February saw Parisian singer/ songwriter Pamela Hute drop the 4th LP Highline via My Dear Recordings. Last year saw the emergence of the Today EP, this splendid piece of perfection compromised of 4 tasty tunes. Now all four of those succulent songs feature on this luscious LP.

During Pamela’s early youth she formed The Mashed Potatoes. Then in 2006 Pamela went solo and released albums such as Turtle Tales From Overseas in 2010 and Bandit three years later. Then another three years after saw this exquisite EP come into the world. Pamela Hute actually created her record label My Dear Recordings which I find to be extraordinary.

I’ve had this whimsical LP an constant repeat and I am thoroughly impressed with what my ears were hearing. If you love your indie pop then give Highline a listen to. All I Say kickstarted. This joyous song was pure bliss, the smoothness of the melody left me in a trance and those vocals were exquisite. This cut was smothered in plenty of pop vibes which resulted in something extremely magical. The lyrics were hypnotising and Pamela’s vocal tones were sugary sweet. It actually reminded me of 90’s Britpop. Banshees was a mixture of indie meets rock which was a perfect pairing. I must say this was extremely haunting and the hookable lyrics left me in a daze. Fool You was delivered to perfection, Hute’s vocal tones were so mesmerising and the steady paced melody was soothing. Those beautiful lyrics were a slice of heaven as they had me hooked from the get go. Hectic Dream was a pacey cut aided by Pamela’s stunning vocals and aided by lyrics which packed a punch. Gunshot was steady paced enchanting tune which at the same time was extremely blissful. Whilst this number left me in a trance, the lyrics were rather chilling “There’s A Gunshot outside/ In the papers, you never saw his face/ And maybe it’s a nightmare/ Anyway, it’s too late/ In the papers, you never saw his face/ And maybe it’s a nightmare/ Anyway, it’s too late”. Smothered with plenty of indie vibes was the compelling I Know. This cut was rather fresh and upbeat at the same time. The vocals were on point and those delicious lyrics left me completely mesmerised. Summer Of 75 was a splendid piece of synthtronica, Hute’s wondrous vocal range left me in a daydream and those tasty lyrics were incredibly infectious. Now this tune was played at a steady pace and all in all this had been perfectly written. Nothing To See was a breathtaking number which oozed plenty of pop vibes. Those contagious lyrics were easy on my ear and at the some time they left me utterly compelled. Whilst the studio version of Nothing To See is an entrancing cut, I guess witnessing it live would be mind blowing. Getting Old saw Pamela go into rock chic mode, this sterling number had been perfectly written with lyrics which packed a fierce punch. The penultimate song of Highline came in the shape of Stick Around, this acoustic cut was so mellow and those vocals were incredibly sweet/ tender. Things then reach its conclusion with the stripped back Run Through The Storm which left me spellbound.

All in all I really enjoyed this record, Highline is the perfect piece of indie pop. Each tune featured was a complete masterpiece, Pamela really does know how to write phenomenal songs. That aside my favourite tunes had to be Summer Of 75, Getting Old and All I Say.

Highline is available to purchase on iTunes

Official Site
Facebook
Twitter

Leave a Reply

