Alice Jemima @ The Lexington 6th March 2017

P1030361

Devon born Alice Jemima is a terrific talent who has finally released her long awaited debut album. Signed to Sunday Best, Alice embarked on a short jaunt of the United Kingdom to support this self titled LP. This tour culminated with a show at London’s The Lexington and just like I suspected it was a right spectacle.

Last year I was lucky enough to attend the headline show at the Sebright Arms. Here she performed tunes from the Liquorice EP as well as showcasing material from her upcoming debut. Originally the record was intended to come out in October but it was then pushed back till March 2017.

P1030364

Anyways Jemima graced the stage around 9.45pm.“I’ve grown since soundcheck” Alice quipped referring to the fact she was wearing heels. Now the set kicked off with Diamonds & Bones. Jemima’s vocals were silky smooth and husky the same time. This was a gentle number which left me well and truly mesmerised. Following on it was then time for the sleek and sensual So. Actually it had a chilled out opening reminiscent to The xx. This cut was a tasty treat aided by a sparkling vocal delivery with lyrics which painted the picture of a night of passion which was out of character “So bad/ To be doing this/ So bad/ But you got me feeling wow/ And that’s all i want right now”. “We’re going to play a cover for you now. I hope you like my version”  Alice said before she tackled Blackstreet’s No Diggity. The pace was really smooth and Jemima’s sassy vocals were both sultry and dreamy. Alice hit the nail on the head and completely did this tune justice. “This is crazy to see so many of you here. Thank you so much for coming” Jemima then humbly mentioned before embarking onto When You Dance. This song was rather upbeat aided by lyrics which left me enthralled. Alice’s vocals were extraordinary/ hushed and all in all this was an enchanting cut “When you hold me tight/ I’m closing my eyes/ This feels like a mystery/ But you make me smile”. After plenty of applause it was then time for a bit of Electric. Now  Jemima’s vocals were sweet like chocolate and I found the chorus to be rather entrancing “Don’t stop you got something Electric baby/ Hypnotised by what you got Electric/ We could light this dark dark city up/ Keep it Electric baby/ Keep it Electric”. All in all I literally adored this number, those sultry lyrics left me enthralled and then you had Alice’s buttery smooth vocals which resulted in something rather majestical. It was then time for a bit of Breezeblocks originally by alt-J. I’ve not heard the original but Alice Jemima flawlessly delivered this song leaving me compelled until the very end. Take Me Back then followed on and one word for this would be cutesy. This was a charming cut with a soft vocal delivery which mellowed me out. The short but sweet Take Me Back had been perfectly delivered and those contagious lyrics had me smiling from beginning to end. Live For Now was a piece of perfection, those vocals were exquisite and those luscious lyrics left me hooked “Live For Now/ Don’t forget yesterday/ Let’s make the most of today”. Once word for this delectable song would be enchanting. Alice then introduced her band before diving into No More. There was a slight smokiness within Jemima’s vocals plus I found them to be sweet like chocolate. This had been crafted to perfection because I found the luscious lyrics to be rather beautiful “Why don’t we just kiss/ And say No More”. “It’s kind of about my love for murder mysteries. It’s quite a dark song with a happy vibe” Alice then mentioned to the gathered audience before diving into Cocoa Liquor. Delivered to perfection, this number was an upbeat jam aided by spellbinding lyrics. Penultimate number Liqourice was a whimsical song aided by trance like lyrics which had me captivated. Alice Jemima’s vocals were candy coated and can quite easily give you a sugar rush. The upbeat verses were spoken whilst the tasty chorus left me spellbound and was reminiscent to Lana Del Rey “They say it’s all ’bout money/ Well I’ve tried so hard/ But I’ve got no money/ So I guess I’ve failed so far/ But I’ve got chocolate coins/ And candy cars/ And I’ve got my flying saucer/ Take me up to mars”. This impeccable evening came to an end with Dodged A Bullet. Everything about this was on point, the verses were hypnotic and the short chorus was extremely light “Everything’s changed/ You make me go/ So let me go/ Just let me go/ You’re fading away/ You’re love has turned/ So let me go/ Just let me go/ I Dodged A Bullet/ Dodged A Bullet/ I Dodged A Bullet/ Dodged A Bullet”. Jemima’s vocals were so sweet and reminded me of Kate McGill.

SET LIST

Diamonds & Bones
So
No Diggity
When You Dance
Electric
Breezeblocks
Take Me Back
Live For Now
No More
Cocoa Liquor
Liquorice
Dodged A Bullet

OVERALL: Alice Jemima is a talent to behold, the self titled LP is a work of art and it was a real pleasure to witness her perform yet again. The songs showcased this evening were extraordinary, Cocoa Liquor was better than ever, Take Me Back was a chirpy cut aided by hypnotic lyrics, Liquorice was a candy coated cut which left me in a daze and Live For Now sounded incredible live.

I relish the prospect of witnessing Alice again, hopefully next time both Toxic and Falling Out Of Love will find their way onto the set list.

Leave a Reply

