My Tips For 2017 (Part 1)

Each year I scour the internet for fresh new talent for the new year. January is always a baron month for gigs making it perfect to find something brand new. I will never forget the day I saw Wolf Alice play at a small pub in Brighton back in 2015 or when I had the chance to see Dua Lipa play at the same Brighton venue earlier this year. Back in February I created my very own Top 10 artists to look out for. This list compromised of Girli, Fenne Lily, Kloe, Elle Exxe, Dua Lipa Mabel, Izzy Bizu, Frances, Anne Marie and Liz. All of those artist (bar Frances) I have witnessed live (to witness new acts festivals such as The Great Escape is always the best place to start to uncover fresh new talent).

So this year I’ve compiled a list of artists/ bands who are worth watching out for in 2017. All the acts listed are people I really would like to experience in 2017 because the music they currently have out there in the public domain is literally amazing. A few of these acts I’ve had the pleasure of witnessing them support other artists/ bands during the past couple of years.

01) Dua Lipa

The only way is up for British pop singer/ songwriterDua Lipa. Having performed a series of sold out shows here in the UK I can only see Lipa’s fan base growing even more. 10th February will see the release of the debut album which will feature the likes of Be The One, Hotter Than Hell, Last Dance and Blow Your Mind (Mwah). I’m fully guessing there will be a tour to accompany the record.

Last year I was extremely impressed with what I heard, I even recommended Dua in my top 10 tips for 2016. Why do I recommend her again this year, simple I see Lipa’s fanbase growing and growing. The song Blow Your Mind (Mwah) was rather punchy leaving me hooked at the same time.

02) Astrid S

Astrid Smeplass is a talented Norwegian singer/ songwriter who made her name for herself on the 7th season of Idol (Norway’s version of Pop Idol) back in 2013. Now signed to Universal, 2016 saw the release of the Astrid S EP. This delicious released consisted of tunes such as Hurts So Good, Paper Thin, Atic, Jump and I Don’t Wanna Know.

I witnessed Astrid S for the first time back in April at The Social then again at The Camden Assembly in the November. Having supported Troye Sivan on his European/ UK tour the fan base has seen the fan base grow. Astrid is packed with plenty potential and this year her star is going to burn so bright. Bring on the album I say.

03) Zara Larsson

Zara Larsson is a talented singer/ songwriter who hails all the way from Sweden. She came to my attention with the song Lush Life, this impeccable single was pure dance pop plus it was extremely infectious. The song itself charted at #3 and was a Summer smash.  Larsson also released Ain’t My Fault and I Would Like this year. Both of these singles are taken from the upcoming 2nd album. As expected these tunes are right crackers.

Zara is literally incredible, she has performed at festivals but she hasn’t toured in her own right. I’m guessing there will be a tour backing the upcoming album and it is more than likely those dates will sell out.

04) Raye

Hailing from Croydon is Rachel Keen. Better known as Raye this talented singer/ songwriter has the world at her feet. I included her in my tips for 2015 as she had signed a record deal with Warner/ Chappel plus she released debut EP Welcome To Winter. Raye’s genre oozes plenty of slick R&B/ Pop vibes.

This year has seen the release of the impeccable I, U, Us (which Charli XCX directed) then you have the recent fresh and funky Shhh. Now Raye has alluded me as her performances have always clashed with something I had booked. Now I predict big things for Raye if these songs are anything to go by.

05) Tigertown

This Australian 4 piece are a family band consisting of married couple Chris and Charlie, Chris’s brother Alexi and his sister Elodie. It was The Great Escape in 2014 when I had the chance to witness them live for the first time. Having fallen in love with their folk sound (they reminded me of Fleetwood Mac) it was my dream that they would re visit the UK. Two years past and my optimism was fading. But Tigertown did return and they landed themselves the support slot on Panic At The Disco’s European/ UK tour. I’m so made up for them because things like this will make your fanbase increase.

Tigertown are now synth driven and have impeccable songs such as Paapernote, Lonely Cities, Golden Sky, Warriors which all make me anticipate a full length album. They’ve even managed to bag themselves a spot on The Great Escape this May.

 

 

Leave a Reply

