MUNA @ Notting Hill Arts Club 28th September 2016

p1010760

MUNA come all the way from Los Angeles and consist of Katie Gavin, Josette Maskin and Naomi McPherson. From having seen them perform earlier on in the year plus having listened to the Loudspeaker EP a number of times, this three piece are your new favourite band. Aside from all that the moment MUNA were announced to play at New Shapes saw me snap up a ticket straight away. It came as no surprise when this gig sold out.

One word to describe MUNA’s performance would be electrifying. Also this small basement venue was literally like an oven. The phenomenal 10 song set kicked off with the short Intro which Naomi took the lead for. Actually I found this to be rather enchanting and at the same time this introduction was very HAIM esque. Morphed to the ending it was then time for Promise and WOW this tune is literally incredible. This was an enthralling tune with lyrics which had me hooked and a funky beat that had me jumping up and down on the spot. Promise was a luscious synth pop cut which oozed plenty of feel good vibes. Katie’s hypnotic vocal tones were sublime and the lyrics were incredible. My favourite part had to be the chorus “Why do I/ Why do I do it/ You wanna/ Hold my hand I make a fist/ A false Promise/ And even if you said you would forgive me/ I don’t know if I could ever say I’m sorry”. Just witnessing this song left me smiling from beginning to end. It was then time for So Special like Promise this also featured on the Loudspeaker EP. This was a being a bittersweet breakup anthem. I found this number to be rather smooth and dreamlike. Katie’s vocals were flawless and plenty of pop vibes oozed from this entrancing number. The lyrics were delectably delicious “Cause i’m all dressed up/ Good you think that i’m beautiful but it’s not enough now i know i’m not so special cause i’m all dressed up/ Good you think that I’m beautiful/ But it’s not enough/ Guess i’m gonna find another bride/ Guess i’ll see you in another life” and the melody was upbeat. “London you’re so beautiful” Gavin said before mentioning that they were to play a few new jams. “It’s about kind of how we can make Gods out of other human beings” Katie then went onto say before End Of Desire. At first this succulent song started of extremely smooth then the chorus packed a fierce punch “Are you taking me to the End Of Desire”. The other two members of MUNA were Brian Jones on bass and Scott Heiner on drums. Actually the usage of the drums gave each number that extra edge. Still this was a compelling cut aided by contagious lyrics which had me moving on the spot. “This is seriously like all we’ve ever wanted. All I need is like a room with you guys. This is so special to have a group of people that we love so dearly” Katie Gavin humbly said to the intimate audience before Naomi chipped in “It’s the first time we’re playing a bunch of these songs. And we had to do it here because we fuckin’ love you guys”. It was then onto the last time they would play Edge Of Seventeen for a while. Now you can’t beat a bit of Stevie Nicks. The MUNA take was literally impeccable I picked up on a smokiness within Gavin’s faultless vocals. Plus you had the tight harmonies by both Maskin and McPherson. Radiating plenty of rock vibes this uplifting number was full of sumptuous hooks. Next it was time for the sparkling anthem which was I Know A Place. This banger easily had me moving on the spot. The lyrics were literally an explosion “I know a place/ I know a place we can go/ Together we run” and this was a refreshing jam which was ever so compelling. To sum things up I Know A Place was a joyous tune with fantastic verses and a light chorus which was extremely spellbinding. Winterbreak was a gentle mid tempo song which left me mesmerised. The lyrics actually made you picture a sad story of being in love with someone but it’s a love you cannot reconcile. Katie’s funky vocal delivery was smooth like butter and Winterbreak had been perfectly crafted with catchy story telling lyrics “Oh, baby I think we both know/ This is a love that we won’t get right/ Still if you said that you wanted/ I know I’ll always have one more try/ Oh, baby, I think we both know/ This is a love that we won’t get right/ Still if you said that you wanted/ I know I’ll always have one more try”. All in all this was a luscious mellowing song which left me spellbound. Once over it was then time for a double dose of new numbers. First up it was Crying On The Bathroom Floor and this felt like a throwback to the 80s with those twinkling synths.Words fail me when it comes to this tune, COTBF was a promising cut packed with exquisite lyrics which left me entranced. Also Katie delivered this tune with plenty of gusto. Around U was a fast paced jam which left me completely engrossed. The light lyrics were phenomenal and the vocals were rather sweet. Plenty of rock pop vibes oozed from this wondrous cut. “Something massive happened here/ But you can feel it in the atmosphere”. MUNA’s performance of this newie showed that girls can really rock. “Now we’re going to play a real fucking sad song” Katie Gavin then said before they tackled If U Luv Me Now. This was a slow paced ballad which did tug at my heart strings “There’s me in the corner/ Making a mess of it/ Don’t you love me now/ There’s me at the table/ Hiding from my lovers in my eyes/ Don’t you love me now”. This delicate song was delivered faultlessly and Gavin’s vocals were spot on. For some reason this song reminds me of Robyn’s Dancing On My Own. This stunning evening was capped off by the title track from the EP and this being Loudspeaker. This 80s tinged tune was a glorious one aided by Katie’s whimsical vocals. The harmonies were tight and this was a dreamy hypnotic cut with delightful lyrics which left me captivated “So if I feel real good tonight/ I’m gonna put it high on the loudspeaker/ And if I feel like crying, I won’t hide it/ I am a loudspeaker/ I am a loudspeaker/ I am a loudspeaker”. To sum things up Loudspeaker was a fun song and it was one which made me smile.

SET LIST

Promise
So Special
End Of Desire
Edge Of Seventeen
I Know A Place
Winterbreak
Crying On The Bathroom Floor
Around U
If U Luv Me Now
Loudspeaker

OVERALL: Despite being like a sweat box this high octane event was one enjoyable evening. The Loudspeaker EP is incredible and the new songs showcased makes me anticipate the debut album. Also the Stevie Nicks cover was literally mind blowing. Whilst I adored each of the 3 brand new cuts my favourite had to Around U.

Now MUNA have something incredibly special and they are destined for big things. What I especially liked was the fact Katie, Naomi and Josette were incredibly sweet and humble. I really wish everyday was a MUNA day.

 

 

Leave a Reply

