NONƎ @ Old Blue Last 4th July 2016

Supporting Charlotte Turnbull at the Old Blue Last was None. Coming all all the way from Istanbul, Turkey  now finds herself living in London. This was the first time I was witnessing her perform live and based on the three songs performed I most definitely will be coming back for more.

There is very little NONƎ material within the public domain all I had to wet my appetite were covers of 7 Nation Army originally by The White Stripes and Beyonce’s Crazy In Love. NONƎ made these tunes her own and the sultry take on Beyonce’s Crazy In Love was rather breathtaking.

Anyhow this set was both short and sweet but I cannot complain as these 3 songs left me enthralled for what the future will hold for NONƎ. “Hi everyone. Nice to see you”  she said before opening with Nothing Outside. This was an original composition and it’s taken from the forthcoming EP. My mind was literally blown, the lyrics were smooth and the vocals were both rich and crisp. This song had been well crafted with lyrics which left me hooked “There is Nothing Outside/ Nothing Outside/ Nothing Outside/ There will be no one/ Who remembers what you did to her”. Anyhow everything about this stupendous song was spot on and I look forward to the day the studio version is released.

Next up was another number from the forthcoming EP and this being Hurting Myself. This delectable cut oozed plenty of promise. Now this wondrous tune was an upbeat jam aided by slick lyrics. The sweet but rich vocals which soared throughout this captivating cut left me completely entranced. Everything about Hurting Myself was truly remarkable, the gentle chorus rather mesmerising “I’m so hurting myself with you” whist the verses were literally packed with a punch.

“The last song, I’m sure you know that song. If you want you can sing with me” NONƎ then mentionedbefore tackling The Weeknd’s The Hills. Flowing with plenty of energy None delivered this number to perfection. She owned this and it was a tune which can easily get you moving. The vocals were exquisite sending shivers up my spine in the process.

SET LIST

Nothing Outside
Hurting Myself
The Hills

OVERALL: NONƎ truly has something special, the vocals were literally mind blowing and I eagerly await the release of the new EP.

Leave a Reply

