Highasakite: Camp Echo Album Preview

ec4c9a35-dcbe-4f30-a083-2d8aca386f97

Released this Friday (20/05/16) is Norwegian quintets Highasakite’s 3rd studio album and this being Camp Echo on Propeller Recordings. This five piece consist of Ingrid Helene Håvik as vocalist, Marte Eberson and Øystein Skar on synths and keys, Trond Bersu on drums and Kristoffer Lo on guitar, percussion and flugabone.

Camp Echo consists of 9 tantalising tracks which are each smothered in plenty of synths and if you love your pop then this album is for you. This delectable release has been in my life four days and in all honesty I’m hooked.

The songs took shape over the 18 months leading to 2016, serving an internal memoir of the outward events that so dramatically shaped Håvik’s worldview. It’s a long time in the making, stemming back to the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001. “I remember that day and I remember the world being so divided,” she says.

“My whole town in Ålesund (Norway) gathered for this really big demonstration against the war in Iraq and I remember being part of that. It’s a part of us and our history, and for me, it formed a realisation of the world we live in”.

My Name Is Liar: Kicking things off is this delightful synth sounding cut. “My Name Is Liar/ And I’m with friends with sin” Ingrid says at the beginning of this song. This was an enchanting infectious dreamy Indie pop tune and the vocals were extremely hypnotic. Overall My Name Is Liar had been perfectly pieced together and Håvik’s vocals were out of this world.

Samurai Swords: I literally adored this song Samurai Swords had upbeat/ edgy verses and a dreamy chorus which left me spellbound “Just call up the guys with the Samurai Swords”. Currently only two songs have been released as singles but this has to be one of them because it was really delightful.

Someone Who’ll Get It: This was the lead single from Camp Echo and it comes as a surprised it only charted at #34 in Norway. This infectious track delivers an eerie passion on themes of war and terrorism. Just listening to this leaves me completely captivated. It may not be light and dreamy like Samurai Swords but the whole upbeat nature had me hooked.

My Mind Is A Bad Neighborhood: Now this was an exquisite song aided by plenty of swarming synths. The verses do sound slightly robotic and the middle 8 was smooth and hypnotic. “We started lighting up the city like you wouldn’t believe”. This had been well crafted and Ingrid’s vocals on this track were pristine.

God Don’t Leave Me: Håvik’s haunting vocals left the hairs on the back of my neck stand on edge. God Don’t Leave Me was a slow paced tune with an impeccable vocal delivery and phenomenal choir like harmonies. “God Don’t Leave Me I’ll freeze/ I’m panicking in my bedroom half asleep/ God Don’t Tempt Me I’m weak” was the opening lines to this haunting number. Actually the lyrics were tinged with plenty of sadness.

I Am My Own Disease: This was a punchy song with lyrics which hit me like a ton of bricks. I Am My Own Disease was a track that left me spellbound and the upbeat edgy lyrics had me completely captivated.

Golden Ticket: This song opens up with the line “God, if you’re still watching” and this line is taken from Guvnor Hofmo’s post World War II poem “Det er ingen hverdag mer”. Golden Ticket had upbeat verses and a trance like chorus which oozed plenty of tasty synth pop vibes. I found it to be a glittering number aided by catchy lyrics which brought a smile to my face “Boy, can you hear me now?/ I got a golden ticket, I’m out/ Boy, can you hear me shout?/ I got a golden ticket, I’m out/ I’m already gone/ I’m out/ I’m already gone/ I’m out”.

Deep Sea Diver: This was literally an explosion in my ears. Deep Sea Diver was a rampant track played lightning fast pace. Everything about this was superb plenty of electronic vibes oozed from this cut and the lyrics were on point. Actually it was an epic aided by majestical lyrics which grabbed hold of me. There was a tinge of darkness within the lyrics “I am not one to my slash wrists/ Coz you’re leaving”. Anyhow Deep Sea Diver was perfectly delivered and is a song I would easily stick on repeat.

Chernobyl: Ending this spectacular LP was this atmospheric cut. Chernobyl was delivered at a slow pace aided by a chilling vocal delivery which enticed me till the very end.

TRACK LISTING

My Name Is Liar
Samurai Swords
Someone Who’ll Get It
My Mind Is A Bad Neighborhood
God Don’t Leave Me
I Am My Own Disease
Golden Ticket
Deep Sea Diver .
Chernobyl

To buy Camp Echo go (HERE)

Official Site
Facebook
Twitter

OVERALL: I am literally in love with this record, there is not a single bad song on it. Being a lover of Scandi Pop this LP went down a treat. Ingrid’s vocal capabilities were something special and my highlights had to be both Samurai Swords and I Am My Own Disease.

If you ever have the opportunity of seeing this Norwegian quintet live I advise you do so because the material they currently have is AMAZING.

UPCOMING DATES

19 MAY 2016 | THE GREAT ESCAPE (UK)
22 MAY 2016 | WHELAN’S, DUBLIN (IE)
23 MAY 2016 | DEAF INSTITUTE, MANCHESTER (UK)
24 MAY 2016 | VILLAGE UNDERGROUND, LONDON (UK)
26 MAY 2016 | PARADISO UPSTAIRS, AMSTERDAM (NL)
18 JUNE 2016 | BERGENFEST, BERGEN (NO)
24 JUNE 2016 | HURRICANE FESTIVAL, SCHEESSEL (DE)
25 JUNE 2016 | SOUTHSIDE FESTIVAL, NEUHAUSEN OB ECK (DE)
28 JUNE | GLEIS 22, MÚNSTER (DE)
29 JUNE 2016 | BI NUU, BERLIN (DE)
30 JUNE 2016 | BRÅVALLA FESTIVAL, NORRKOPING (SE)
1 JULY 2016 | ROSKILDE FESTIVAL (DK)
17 JULY 2016 | LATITUDE FESTIVAL (UK)
30 JULY 2016 | TROLLROCK, BEITOSTØLEN (NO)
12 AUGUST 2016 | ØYAFESTIVALEN, OSLO (NO)
19 AUGUST 2016 | PSTEREO, TRONDHEIM (NO)
20 AUGUST 2016 | PARKENFESTIVALEN, BODØ (NO)

Leave a Reply

