Introducing: Hannah Georgas

Hannah Georgas - For Evelyn - Album Artwork 600x600pix

Hailing from Vancouver, Canada is a talented pop rock songstress and that is Hannah Georgas. She made her mark on the music industry way back in 2009 with the debut EP The Beat Stuff then a year later the debut album This Is Good came out. Both of these records were released on Hidden Pony Records. 2011 saw Hannah nominated in the categories of Best New Artist of the Year and Songwriter of the Year at the Juno Awards. She took home the Emerging Artist of the Year at XM’s Verge Music Awards in 2011 as well as Solo Artist of the Year at the Sirius/XM-sponsored Indies.

2012 saw the release of the sophomore LP and this being Hannah Georgas which was the first record released on her current label Dine Alone Records. In June 2013, the album was longlisted for the 2013 Polaris Music Prize. The album won Pop Recording of the Year at the Western Canadian Music Awards in 2013. She was nominated for Songwriter of the Year and Alternative Album of the Year at the 2013 Juno Awards.

Hannah has toured alongside the likes of Sara Bareilles, Kathleen Edwards and City and Colour. She first came to my attention back in 2014 after she was listed to play at Brighton’s The Great Escape. I literally fell in love with the likes of Robotic, Millions and This Is Good. Just witnessing her perform live was something special and she was phenomenal. I’m actually glad I witnessed her as I don’t know when she will next be in the UK.

I would describe the music that Georgas has under her belt is hypnotising indie pop and each track that she has is incredible. The sophomore record Hannah Georgas was a whimsical effort conisisting of 11 splendid tunes which were extremely light.

https://soundcloud.com/hannahgeorgas/sets/hannah-georgas

Hannah Georgas - Don't Go Artwork (credit Vanessa Heins) 600pix

Don’t Go: Now this song is the first taster from the brand new record For Evelyn. Named after her 98 year old grandmother For Evelyn is judging by this song set to be an impeccable record consisting of cuts which will no doubt captivate me. This LP is again released on Dine Alone Records. “For the last number of years I had been living far away from family. The distance definitely started weighing on me. I realised that time passes by so quickly and I was really feeling the need to be closer to home. It’s an overwhelming feeling coming to terms with the fact that one day my mom isn’t going to be around. I was feeling that heaviness when I was writing this song” Georgas said of this song. Anyhow I literally adored Don’t Go, compared to the likes of the material which featured on This Is Good and Hannah Georgas this song is different in style. Don’t Go was a sleek electronic indie pop track and there was a tinge of emotion from the lyrics “Don’t know what I would do/ If I lost you”. Anyways Don’t Go was a slice of perfection, Hannah’s vocals were outstanding and the way this song was written was quite something as it left me completely hooked.

All in all this was a wondrous tune which does make me anticipate the release of For Evelyn this summer.

 

Leave a Reply

